I can love the new Elmore Judd album

February 18, 2010

So I’ve been floundering over posting about the new Elmore Judd album.

The problem being, the previous album was complete and utter alternative funk for me. If my mp3’s were vinyl, I would have worn the grooves out. Loved it and stalked a new album. Then … the new album arrives. And I listen. And, well, it just wasn’t the same. Then I realized … it’s not the same, but that doesn’t make it bad – just different, and change is good, right? Right! So now …. I like the album for what it is. Elements of jazz, gypsy/folk, and mystery – for a lack of a better term – sneak into the overall funk vibe. You can preview all the tracks here. At the end of the day, I do love this new album too. But here’s a throwback video from his previous album, Insect Funk.

Leave a Reply

